Big Adventures in a Small World

Zambia: The End

I arrive home from the field and Wanyinwa with one remaining week to enjoy my time in Zambia.  I get together with some of my friends and decide that it might be a good idea to go explore the markets in downtown Lusaka.  We love the markets because they are an opportunity to immerse yourself in the Zambia

Lusaka Market

culture and madness, all while rummaging through heaps of clothing and other donated goods that are merely sitting on the side of the road.  So we go downtown and spend 4 hours wandering the streets and markets.  We move with the crowds for hours as we try to find little ‘gems’ in the madness, but after a while we tire of the pushing, shoving and looping Zambian music.  As we make our way back to the car with our ‘new’ used tshirts, hats, and shoes, I find myself in the middle of a busy intersection.  As this is not the first time I have found myself between a bus and a crowd of people, I think nothing of it.  At that point however, I begin to feel some frisky hands all over my body and I can’t figure out why I feel like I am on some darkened dancefloor.  In the next 3 or 4 moments, my mood changes from curiosity, to surprise, to anger as I realize that of the 8 people crowding me, 4 are trying to rob me.  My friend said that she could visibly see my moods changing in those few moments – I had a look in my eyes that was unstable.   I immediately thrash my arms outwards as I look at one guy in the eyes.  He has his hands around my sunglasses and is trying to pull them off of the string keeping them around my neck.  I am glad to be a bit bigger in stature than most Zambians because I ‘create space’ around me and then bolt through the intersection with my friend in tow.  Once we make it safely to the other side, I check my pockets to find that nothing has been taken, thank goodness, and my friend begins to shake.  “Holy sh*t Jack, I just watched you get robbed” she says.  Yea, it was time for an ice cream.

Over the next few days I go to work and enjoy the company of my coworkers and

Project Analysis

wrap up the finishing touches on my project.  I also get one final lesson in Zambian beaucracy, but that is another matter completely.  I have some final meals of nshima and liver, ones that I am sure I won’t be having for quite some time, and do my best to absorb as much Zambian culture as possible.

My friends throw me a going away party of sorts, where we have a self directed trivia night that is absolutely hilarious.  Each team does a great job a sabotaging the others and the scoring is dismal all the way around.  My market friend and I are teamed up and we decide to make an interactive round for our trivia questions.  We end up going

Can Trivia Tasting

to the store and getting cans of food, taking the labels off of them, and have our friends try to figure out what is inside by any means possible.  To watch everyone shake the cans, roll them on the ground and even attempt to smell them was just spectacular.  The other rounds included a blind hot sauce tasting, African music lessons, and obscure African geography questions.  By the end we were almost in tears with laughter – it was a perfect way to say goodbye.

The next morning, after watching one of my friends place 3rdin the Lusaka Marathon, I went to church for my final practice with the choir at St. Mary Magdalene’s.  Although I haven’t been writing about the choir a whole lot, I have been with them the entire time.  The choir numbers have been reduced from 15 to 4, but they still have the smiling faces and the welcoming nature that I always loved.  On the final weekend I asked them to make sure we sing traditional Zambian songs.  So on the next day when I

Jack & The Choir

go to the service, I am smiling ear-to-ear when we break into Natulea Kamusumba and other Tonga, Bemba, and Nyanja songs.  Luckily one of my friends here in Lusaka is a documentary film maker and volunteered to come and record one of our performances, which can be found here on youtube.com.

As I drive to the airport on my way out of Lusaka, I can’t help but wonder if I will be coming back to Zambia any time soon.  I know that I made a lot of promises to my Zambian friends last time that I was here, but this time I don’t know if I can do the same.  I want to come back, but as I am driving down the highway at 5am watching the sun rise over the grassy fields and solem trees that are sprinkled throughout the Zambian countryside, I just don’t know when I’ll be back…

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Now that I have been home for a few weeks, I have had some time to reflect on my time in Zambia and the other places that Ryan and I visited.  I have changed a bit.  I can feel myself reacting differently to problems and I often think “what would they do about this in _____?”  I haven’t been as quick to judge, I suddenly hate petty gossip, and I find uniformity absolutely suffocating.  It is almost as if I have started to look at the world through a lense of organized chaos – I want to feel the diversity and madness of cultures interacting with each other.

Did we find what we were looking for?  I believe so, yes.  I know that I can speak for Ryan when I say that we both were looking to have our minds blown and to experience how others lived their lives.  We wanted to ‘get lost,’ see what was deep inside ourselves, and find what was meaningful.  We wanted to find the connections that crossed cultures and understand the meaningful differences.  We wanted to feel uncomfortable and work our way through it.  We wanted to live.  Mission accomplished.

Still living out of a suitcase [now with my road bike and golf clubs in tow], I feel as if I am just on another step of this adventure.  After a few life events in the past 2 years, I can say that I don’t have a bed of my own and I really don’t have a home-base, which I am pretty cool with.  I am working hard to figure out what lies ahead, but I am keen on looking back and understanding what I have done and why I did it.  Through this, it has become clear to me that I am a man of passion.  I get extremely passionate about something and work tirelessly to make sure that it happens.  Thinking about this, I am so proud of Ryan and myself and our ability to ‘stick to our guns’ and make the dream of the Grand Adventure, a reality.  Although we always had our staunch supporters, many people told us that it wouldn’t be a good idea and that we would be worse off.  They asked us about losing out on valuable job experience.  They told us that we would be broke.  They said that it couldn’t be done.

It can be done.  All that is needed is a bit of faith, a solid pair of shoes, and an open mind – everything else will fall into place if you can just go with the flow.  The world isn’t that big when you think about it.  We might be from different cultures and backgrounds, but we are all humans at the end of the day and regardless if you practice Islam in Jordan, herd sheep in New Zealand, or climb mountains in Nepal, you are still going to laugh at bad jokes, think outsiders are a bit weird, and vow that your mother is the best cook in the world.

Thanks for reading.

-Jack

Current Location: Detroit, Michigan

Hot Sauce Trivia

Trivia – “It has to be chic peas!”

Mushemi Fire Track Team & Sponsors

3rd Place Celebration

World Vision Workplace

Jack & The Bishop

Jack, Derrick & The Bishop

New Members of the St. Mary Magdalene Boys Brigade

 

 

 

This entry was published on July 16, 2012 at 2:35 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Zambia: The End

  1. Ellen Meranze on said:

    Thank you Jack and Ryan for reminding us what is really important in life! Thank you for sharing your journey and your lessons and your adventures with us. I know you have inspired me to be more adventurous and to not dwell on the little things! Congratulations to you both!

  2. Well played Mr. Gray and guy I don’t know but have heard good things about! Most people probably thought you were putting their lives on hold to screw off, I think they are putting their lives on hold to avoid having to live it. You have been living. Never stop – or at least go live it from time to time. People on their death beds will say….I wish I’d have done what Jack and Ryan did after college – I just didn’t get it back then.

  3. your lives, they thought you were putting your lives on hold. thank you, that will be all.

  4. Muyangwa Muyangwa on said:

    I was randomly searching for my church on the web – St Mary Magdalene , Lusaka and came across a guy sibgibg in our church choir that I had not met before. it turns out its Jack! i enjoyed watching the videos as they brought back memories of church services and my baptism in that very church. i moved from Zambia to Ghana and it was nice to see a piece of my spiritual home in those two choir videos. You made my day!

    • Muyangwa,
      Thank you so much. The fact that your day was a bit better because of these stories and videos makes everything worth it. Connections like this are the reason for the Grand Adventure.

      All the best,
      Jack

      • Muyangwa Muyangwa on said:

        Hey Jack! Happy 2014 and hope you had a merry christmas. I went back home to Zambia for a few day over the christmas holiday and attended service at my church. The church seems to be growing spiritually and the choir is improving in leaps and bounds. I attended Christmas and Sunday mass and it was great.

        Visit them sometime soon and share the great worship artmosphre the Praise Team ( Choir) has created with their brand new equipment.

        Happy a successful 2014.
        By the way, I have since left Ghana and I am now based in Tanzania.

Leave a Reply

